Home > game collection, Gaming, Me, Packaging, playstation, ps3, PSN, Snapshots, Trophies, Video Games > Dead Space 2 Collector’s Edition

Dead Space 2 Collector’s Edition

I’ve not updated anything in a long while and I’d like to say that I’m lazy but that would mean I have time to waste. Totally not true. Family always comes first and the past few months have been family heavy. It’s been tough. Anyway we’re not here to discuss family, we’re here to discuss my opinion on Dead Space 2.

Dead Space 2 Collector's Edition

First I’ll fill you in on what’s in the Collector’s Edition. First and foremost it comes with the game (manual, case and all) but as a bonus it’s the Limited Edition version of the game. What makes it a limited edition is that the disc comes with a full copy of Dead Space Extraction on it. If you don’t know what this is, it’s essentially a HD version of the prequel to Dead Space that was originally released on the Wii. It’s a great bonus to an already awesome game. I had always wanted this for the Wii but never got around to purchasing it. Now I have it for the lowly sum of FREE and it has a full trophy set also. EA dun me proud.

Plasma Cutter

Secondly it comes with a little plastic replica of the plasma cutter in Dead Space 2. Now when I say little… that’s exactly what it is. It seems to be about 1/2 – 2/3 scale model of what you’re using in the game. Makes it look comical and actually feels rather comical when equipping it in real life :D
Lastly there is a soundtrack CD and art cell in the box which aren’t a big deal on their own but a nice bonus overall.

I finished up my platinum in Dead Space 2 last week so I figured I’d comment on the game. Simply put, it’s great. If you loved the original, there isn’t a darn thing about this game that you wouldn’t like. It’s everything you loved in the first one but more of it… Oh and there isn’t an asteroid shooting gallery to slow you up this time round ;P
Story is pretty good though can get old on multiple play throughs. Wouldn’t be a problem but you can’t skip through scenes or anything. You just have to let everything play through on its own. Kinda sucks but but overall not bad considering that’s my only gripe. Make sure to stay through the entire credits. There’s a little bit at the end of it that I’d say is an important piece of the puzzle.
Gameplay and controls are essentially identical to the first one with very minor tweaks. I guess they felt that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. One nice fix is that you can now reload without having to hold the aim button at the same time. Simple change but helps tremendously when you are trying to skeedaddle away from some necromorphs.
Music and sound is just as good as the original. It’s excellent. Surround sound is the only way to go when playing this game. I feel sorry for any of you who only have your tv speakers. Just the thought of it makes me sad.
I won’t comment on multiplay. I never tried it and don’t really intend to.

I honestly can’t say there was much that was added that was new. Basically if you liked the original, you’ll love this sequel.

I’d give the Collector’s Edition a $75/80. The game with bonus Extraction is already worth that amount. Everything else is just icing on the cake.
I’d give the standard edition wo/Extraction a $55/60. Definitely a great game and worth your time.

Well I must be off. Dead Space Severed just got released today. Gonna go kill me some more necromorphs… or would I be RE-killing them? Who knows? It’s gonna be a great ride anyway!

  1. March 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm | #1

    “Family always comes first and the past few months have been family heavy.”

    I know how this can be, as my wife and I have a little guy that’s almost two, and he’s running here, there, and EVERYWHERE now, and it’s a blast.
    Gaming doesn’t happen at night until I put him to bed, but even then I have school work to do most nights, so gaming is sporadic right now.

  2. March 15, 2011 at 12:41 am | #2

    It’s pretty much the same in my house. No gaming gets done until the kids are in bed. I usually stay up until about 1 am so I’ve got plenty of time to play games between 9 or 10 and 1 am.

    • Gil
      March 15, 2011 at 8:55 am | #3

      Seems that most parent gamers exchange sleep for game time. I do the same. Little lady goes to bed around 8:00. Make sure the wife and little man are doing ok then off to some gaming. So I’m usually on around 9:00-midnight (or 1 if I have the drive). It just makes it extremely difficult to get up in the morning. Lately I’ve been trying to do the 5:00 am routine. Go to bed early and get up at 5 and game for an hour. Get the kids ready and off to work. In theory this should ensure that I get to work on time but It hasn’t worked out so well. I’ve only been able to do it once. Getting up at 5am really bites!

  3. May 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm | #4

    That plasma cutter is awesome! I need to pick on if these up, I think…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

