E 74 Error

E 74 Error

Great. I rarely if ever use my 360 Elite (If I’m lucky I average 3-4 hrs a week on it). I tend to play my PS3 more for the simple fact that I’ve had it longer and it has free online play. Now while watching a DVD on my 360 I noticed some vertical bands across the screen and the video seeming very low res. This is even considering it’s always looked fine with the HDMI connections to the HDTV. I decided to check the video settings to see if something was amiss. Everything looked proper. I decided I’d just restart the system. Typically that would fix any issues but what ended up happening was that I got a flashy quarter red ring and a screen that said I had an E 74 Error. I am not pleased at all. If anything I’m pissed! I’ve probably not even logged in a tenth of the hours into this system as my PS3 and it has failed me. I don’t have it enclosed in an entertainment stand and I dust it often. There would be absolutely no reason for it to fail considering the way I baby my systems. Totally unacceptable no matter how you look at it.

According to the xBox site, the warranty for this type of error is 3 years from purchase date. Get this, I have the original receipt and guess what? It was purchased by my wife as a gift to me exactly 3 years and 21 days ago. Coincidence? I think not. I’ve contacted xBox support regarding this issue. I guess we’ll just have to see how they respond on Monday or Tuesday. I’m really not expecting much from them considering they pretty much still deny they had any wrong doing considering bad consoles. This kinda $#!t infuriates me! Today I hate Microsoft almost as much as I hate Gamestop.

  1. April 3, 2011 at 9:45 am | #1

    Oh just reading your post made me so mad. I’ve had that happen to me before – something broke down shortly after the warranty date. You end up feeling that they made it that way on purpose, right? Grr. Stomping mad. I hope they end up fixing it for you since it’s just outside the warranty and since you take excellent care of your equipment. I feel that it’s their way to get you to either repair it (half the cost of the system) or buy a new one. Either way they get some money out of you, again. Very suspicious sounding.

    • Gil
      April 12, 2011 at 8:35 am | #2

      Well they won’t fix it for free. They seem to be pretty black and white about the warranty thing. Doesn’t matter if it’s a day or a year past warranty. I need to pay them $120 if I want them to fix it. Of course that’s not including shipping. Makes me sad that I intentionally avoided using it so that I wouldn’t get the RRoD.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

