Home > 360, game collection, Gaming, Me, Microsoft, Video Games, XBox, xBox Live > Xbox Live Update – Halo: Reach

Xbox Live Update – Halo: Reach

Halo Reach Preview Disc

How convenient! Look what I just got in the mail. I’m so friggin excited I can’t contain myself! I just got the Halo: Reach preview disc that allows me to update my Xbox Live! Whoop dee doo! I absolutely cannot wait to dig into… oh wait. My console is currently out of commission. Please see previous post. Nice Microsoft, nice.

Oh I forgot to post an update for the last post. To put it simply, they told me it’s out of warranty. I need to pay em 120 bones if I wanted them to fix it or I could go through the online hoops to get it repaired for 100 bones. This is of course sans shipping costs. I don’t think so. It can sit on the shelf and rot for all I care. Glad I hadn’t invested that much into the system but it still pisses me off cause my lady bought it for me as an out of the blue gift :(

  1. Lisa
    April 12, 2011 at 7:19 am | #1

    I’m really, really sorry. I read the sad, sordid details in your last post. We don’t have an Xbox and the main reason is because hubby is a UPS driver and he sees them being returned sooo often. We’d love to play some Xbox games, but not at the expense of our sanity.

    What will you do now?

    Lisa

    • Gil
      April 12, 2011 at 8:53 am | #2

      Well I guess I’m glad I really didn’t use it much anyway. Sad that I intentionally avoided overusing it just to hopefully evade the RRoD but apparently the console was cheaply built like most Microsoft products. You know, if I had used it more, it may have failed during the warranty and I could have gotten it repaired for free. Anyway it just means I will put more time into my Playstation 3 which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I just hope all the time spent on it doesn’t burn it out and give me the YLoD.

      Oh and I’ll probably just purchase an Xbox repair kit for $30 and try to fix it myself. Of course that means I’ll have to break the warranty seal. Also I could potentially damage it to the point of no repair but really… would I be out much? I don’t like the idea but I sure do like taking things apart and looking at electronic innards :D I hope my Xbox can at least give me that much entertainment.

  2. May 5, 2011 at 11:15 pm | #3

    You could also try selling it to someone who might want to fix it up. Sorry for your loss lol… my PS3 broke and I was flippin out because I had hours of game saves on there… and then I smacked it. Really hard. It has worked fine ever since. I was like… I should have smacked it a month ago!!

    • Gil
      May 6, 2011 at 8:38 am | #4

      Well I’ll be honest, I never really played it that much anyway so overall it’s not a big deal. Just seems like such a waste of $450. I plan to do some Xbox surgery on it eventually. I just haven’t bothered because I have plenty on my list of to-do’s and don’t really feel the need to spend $30 to try and fix it. Hoping to have more time… eventually. :(

  3. June 23, 2011 at 9:03 pm | #5

    This is rather unfortunate. Have you had any luck since you posted this? My 360 is on its last legs right now. I keep getting disc read errors, but Microsoft refuses to fix it for me unless I cough up $99. The only way I can play games is after repeatedly opening and shutting the tray, but even then it doesn’t work half the time. So frustrating…. I don’t understand how they can get away with making hardware of such poor quality.

    • Gil
      July 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm | #6

      Well no luck with Microsoft. I went ahead and ordered a repair kit for $25. Seems to be working like a gem again no thanks to the cats at Microsoft. Lets hope it continues to function.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

