In my youth I used to play a lot of video games. Well actually I still play a lot but that’s a whole different story. Well anyway as I was saying, in my youth I played a lot of video games and typically I’d play with a select few friends. Now by select few I would actually mean only three friends. Of these three friends, I only keep in touch with one. The other two have long since fallen by the wayside and I have not talked to them for many a year. Now Stephon I still keep in touch with even though we actually live quite literally a thousand miles apart. I would go so far as to say he is my best friend.
Recently he came to visit me and my family and it was a time that I was excited for yet dreading. Now I was excited because it had been over a year since we had last been in each other’s presence. We talk on the phone often but really it’s not the same as enjoying the weather with beer in hand or visiting a local restaurant for lunch. What I was dreading was the hand off of all of his gaming hardware and software to me. Now this may sound like a good thing to most of you but here’s the problem with it. It signals to me that he has officially moved on from the gaming scene. We have discussed it before but through this physical exchange, it has become official and ultimately set in stone. My one greatest gaming ally has moved on and it saddens me to no end. It’s like ToeJam without Earl, Marcus without Dom or even Ratchet without Clank.
Anyway enough of the sob story. I’m sure you’re only reading this to find out what was handed over so here’s what was in the official exchange. I’ll even post some pics for you to enjoy.

Game Collection Handoff

 

Atari Jaguar and games

Atari Jaguar Console CIB
Alien vs. Predator CIB
Raiden CIB
Tempest 2000 CIB

 

NES Compact and games

NES Compact Console (NES ver2) CIB
Castlevania CIB
Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest
Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse CIB
Contra
Donkey Kong Classics
Gradius
Life Force  CIB
Mario Bros.
Rad Racer CIB
Rad Racer II CIB
Rush ‘N Attack
Super Contra
Super Mario Bros. CIB
Super Mario Bros. 2
Super Mario Bros. 3 CIB

 

Playstation 2 and games

PS2 Slim Console CIB
Castlevania: Lament of Innocence  CIB
Devil May Cry GH CIB
R-Type Final CIB
Resident Evil: Code Veronica GH CIB

 

PSOne and games

PSOne Console
Castlevania: SotN GH CIB
Metal Gear Solid GH CIB
Resident Evil 2 CIB

 

SNES Compact and games

SNES Compact Console (SNES ver2) w/Kirby Super Star CIB
Axelay CIB
Castlevania: Dracula X CIB
Contra III: The Alien Wars    CIB
Final Fight
Final Fight 2 CIB
Firepower 2000 CIB
Gradius III CIB
Ninja Gaiden Trilogy CIB
R-Type III CIB
Street Fighter II Turbo
Super Castlevania IV CIB
Super Mario All Stars CIB
Super Mario Kart CIB
Super Mario World
Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island CIB
Super R-Type CIB
Top Gear CIB

It pleases me that he thought of me to hand these off to. Unfortunately it still was a sad day for me. The end of an era so to speak.

  1. Scott Carmichael
    August 4, 2011 at 10:53 am | #1

    This is a sad post.

    As much as I’d love to have a CIB NES 2 and SNES 2 model…that sucks man. He even had a Jaguar…a crummy system…but a “so bad it’s good” gaming experience. AvP and Tempest aren’t actually that bad.

    Be sure to keep in touch with the guy…and who knows, maybe as he gets to be an older guy (in his 50s, perhaps after kids leave home, if he has them) you and him can return to your gaming roots.

  2. June 28, 2013 at 7:20 am | #2

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I
    need some help from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

