Home > Me, Snapshots > Dog days

Dog days

Cicada 04

When I was younger I would always be out looking for insects and plants that I could keep and play with or simply watch grow.

One of my favorites to catch was the dog day cicada. I knew when these were in season when I would see the skins all over trees or walls. It still amazes me to this day how any creature could shed itself of an old skin and come out fresh and new. Some days I wished I could shed myself of some old baggage and be ready for anything the future has in store for me. But alas that is not so easy.

Anyway I loved catching these because they looked so cool and they were such a challenge to catch. First I would have to listen for the distinguishing high pitched sounds of the male cicada calling for a mate. Then I would have to climb a tree and get as close as I could to it… at that point I would have to wait let it slowly come to me. If aggitated by any quick movements, it would fly away so patience was a key. After I would catch one, I would tie some twine between its thorax and abdomen and tie the other end to anything heavy. I would then let it go and it would fly in circles. Yeah it seems pretty mean but that’s what kids do. They experiment on anything and everything. Ahh the childhood dog days of summer. Can’t beat em.

Categories: Me, Snapshots
  1. November 13, 2006 at 1:27 am

    Thats a damn scary bug!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

