Home > Electronics, Me, Microsoft, Nintendo, Sony, Video Games > Wii vs. PS3 vs. 360

Wii vs. PS3 vs. 360

September 26, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m tired of all the “Fanboys/girls” hating on competing systems. It is especially apparent now that the next gen is counting down to release. It seems most of them have no idea about the histories of some of these game companies. Heck I don’t even think some of these people have ever experienced the original NES or even the original Playstation for that matter.

I don’t even remember the name of the first video game system I owned (a pong wannabe system) but it was part of the first generation of home game systems available (for reference, Wii, PS3 and the 360 are considered 7th generation). Because of owning and researching older consoles, I think I have enough background to at least comment about the next gen/current gen in a minimally biased view.

So here goes… To the best of my knowledge, here is my view and opinions on the Wii, PS3 and XBox 360 (I will only be commenting on the full systems and not the dumbed down cheaper versions of the PS3 and 360).

Microsoft XBox 360:

Pros:

  1. Detachable 20gig HDD
  2. Already available for purchase
  3. Free basic online service (fee for premium service) and from my understanding, the most user friendly interface
  4. Wireless controllers
  5. DVD capable (HD-DVD add on in the near future)
  6. Dolby 5.1 Dolby Digital audio capable
  7. Memory card and camera support

Cons:

  1. High price point ($400)
  2. Partial backwards compatibility (working on all games to be compatible)

Sony Playstation 3:

Pros:

  1. Most powerful of the next gen systems (processor power alone)
  2. Built in 60gig HDD
  3. Blu-ray drive
  4. DVD capabilities
  5. Multi-media friendly (Accepts Memory stick, SD/MMC and Compact flash)
  6. Wireless controllers
  7. Online capable (free service)
  8. Backwards compatible
  9. Able to communicate with the PSP
  10. 5.1 Dolby Digital capable audio
  11. Intended to be an all encompassing media center

Cons:

  1. Highest price point ($600)
  2. Bulkiest of the systems
  3. Need to purchase a separate adapter for PSOne & PS2 memory card support

Nintendo Wii:

Pros:

  1. Lowest price point ($250)
  2. Ultimate backwards compatability (download of older generation games possible from NES, Turbo-Graphx 16, Sega Genesis etc)
  3. Online capable (Wireless built in but Ethernet attachment available)
  4. Wireless controllers
  5. Completely new interactive gameplay mechanics (innovative motion sensing controllers)
  6. Large list of Nintendo console specific franchises ie Metroid, Zelda, Mario etc
  7. Able to communicate with the Nintendo DS
  8. Smallest of the systems (approx 3 DVD cases stacked)
  9. Software bundled with the console (Wii Sports)
  10. GC hardware support built in – 4 GC controller ports and 2 memory card ports
  11. Fastest load times from booting up system to start menu of games
  12. Photo viewing software built in to read images off of the SD card

Cons:

  1. No HDD only 512 mb built in flash memory which is not necessarily bad but that amount of memory is substantially less than either of the other systems. (expandable with SD card slots)(potential increase via external usb mass storage)
  2. Weakest system in terms of raw processor power and graphic capabilities
  3. No DVD capabilies
  4. only Dolby Pro Logic II capable audio

That’s it for now.

  1. becs
    September 26, 2006 at 7:23 pm

    That is a really good article, thanks for writing it.
    Its worth mentioning that the 360 does also have memory card and camera support. You can just plug either into USB port and view your pictures.
    As far as I know (and I may be wrong) the PS3 memory card support exists only for SD and memorysticks.

  2. Gil
    September 26, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Thank you for the comment. I’ve gon ahead and added your notes and made some other changes. ^.^

  3. becs
    September 27, 2006 at 9:09 am

    I forgot one other thing about the Wii and this is one of my biggest bugbears. Wii has no ethernet port. You either have to use wireless with a router/dongle or BUY an ethernet add on.
    Have you ever heard of such nonsense?

  4. Gil
    September 27, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    Understood. I would agree that it’s pretty odd that there is no built in ethernet port but on Nintendo’s side, they did at least built in the wireless internet capability. I guess I’ll just have to jump into the now by going wireless instead of connecting everything via my ethernet web.

  5. nik
    October 29, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    I think your article thing is great, it’s unbiased (witch is a first for any 7th gen comparison)but I have one comment (witch I would have to say about almost all comparisons between nintendo/sony/microsoft in not just 7th gen). It’s the fact of the graphics comment about nintendo vs. sony/microsoft. I can agree that the 360 (and probably PS3) have better graphics BY FAR for NHL and NBA and sports games that are similar to those. But I disagree that the graphics for games like “Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicals” and “Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance” (both of witch I have for Game Cube), are that much worse then some similar games, such as “Final Fatasy XII” (for PS2, witch I have also played extensivley at a friends hous), etc.. I meen, look at the cut scenes for both of th NGC games I listed above, I think they a are up to par with the xbox and PS2 games. Also, look at Mario Galaxies. It may be a different kind of graphics, but I still think that they can be compared some waht evenly. Please think about that and if you disagree, please tell me why.

  6. Gil
    October 30, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks for the comment nik.
    First of all, I agree that when you compare Full Motion Videos (FMV), all systems fare quite well. The largest problem with comparing these videos is that they are prerendered animations. Which means that the scene was fully rendered and recorded before it was placed onto the disc. Basically it’s a CG movie which is just playing like a DVD. It requires no help from the game engine to play.

    On the other hand, I am attempting to compare real time graphics. Gameplay graphics, so to speak, as well as real time cinematics. These require the game engine to create the scene on the fly. The strain then is on the processor to recreate shadows and physics during the scene and in some cases, change the scene accordingly ie Resident Evil 4 costumes in the cut scenes. Crystal Chronicles cut scenes were FMVs while Metroid Prime cut scenes were real time. The real time cut scenes are visually identical to standard gameplay graphics of the game. On the other hand the prerendered scenes typically look different from gameplay (often quite a bit better).

    I believe that using all of the systems to their full potential, the PS3 would come out on top if comparing real time scenes. Following that would be the 360 and lastly the Wii.

    Even with these comparisons, I can’t help but feel Nintendo is on the ball with the Wii. It’s going to come out on top! Go Wii!

  7. nik
    November 6, 2006 at 12:17 pm

    I agree with you partially on most of that except for “Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance”, When, yes the cut scenes are a bit better, the “real time” graphics are almost just as good, the only difference is that its pretty much zoomed in on the cut scenes

  8. James
    November 11, 2006 at 8:02 pm

    gr8 site so the ps3 actually does have free internet

  9. Gil
    November 12, 2006 at 7:27 pm

    As of now it’s free. But with Sony, that may change.

  10. James
    November 13, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Also does the ps3 release in the 3 colours that hav ben shown around the world and can u watch tv plus if you can go on the internet can u download msn

  11. Gil
    November 13, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    From my knowledge, the PS3 will only be released in black w/silver trim (60gig version) and straight black (20gig version). I’m sure they will release other colors when the demand for systems isn’t so high.
    Secondly, I don’t think that the PS3 has a built in tv tuner if that’s what you are asking.
    Lastly, even though the PS3 will be able to download content over the internet, I’m sure they will control what you are able to downlad onto the HDD. So I’m guessing downloading msn will be a no go.
    I’m just guessing though. (º.°)

  12. James
    November 21, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    thanks

  13. Luke
    November 24, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    Very good, however you can’t eally say that low graphical power is a con with any of the consoles because graphics is not what makes a game good. You can have brilliant graphics and a rubbish game. (vice versa)

  14. James
    November 26, 2006 at 10:09 am

    about a hdmi cable
    does ps3 have 1
    if no how much

  15. Gil
    November 27, 2006 at 2:33 pm

    Luke, I totally agree with you there. I still love playing some of my original nes games. My advantage now is that I can actually play it on my Wii. ^.-
    James, ps3 does not come with hdmi cables out of the box. You have to buy them separately. Unfortunately I do not know what the going price is for it. Actually I think you can purchase any hdmi cord for the system. I don’t think you have to purchase one that is strictly for the system. But then again I think that may only be for the 60gig version.

  16. James
    December 12, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    hi again
    i live in the uk
    is the ps3 out in silver and white over their
    if no when will they be

  17. Gil
    December 12, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Currently the PS3 is only in black. The 60 gig version also has a silver stripe along the CD/DVD/Blu Ray drive slot while the 20 gig version is in plain black. I don’t know if or when Sony will have different colors produced. Looking at their track record, I’m sure they will eventually have limited edition color options.

  18. James
    January 12, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    what wil the next nintendo handheld console

  19. September 9, 2009 at 7:24 am

    xbox 360 ftw… especially since you can download xbox 360 games… even been playing them live since i downloaded the stealth patches…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

