Home > Electronics, Me, Snapshots, Sony, technology, Video Games > Final Fantasy XII

Final Fantasy XII

Final Fantasy XII Collector's Edition

Well I picked up my copy of Final Fantasy XII Collectors Edition yesterday at EB Games. First off, if you haven’t already picked up FFXII (but you plan to), I think it would be a good idea to spend the extra $10 and get the collectors edition. It features a sweet metal case and a bonus DVD that has some nice goodies on it. My favorite of which is the 30 min overview of the Final Fantasy series from the original all the way to Final Fantasy XIII. I think it could have been more in depth but good no less.

From my experience so far, it’s a top notch production! The intro sequence is nothing but graphically amazing. The short glimpse of the story that I have so far become aware of is written well and the voiceovers are actually quite good. I’m pretty much a sucker for sweet intros and this one does not disappoint in any way.

Gameplay is Excellent. It’s akin to Final Fantasy XI if you are familiar with it. The biggest difference here is that you control your whole party and you’re not dependent on idiot human party members to jack things up for you. Movement is smooth and controls are dead on. What I loved about FFXI I also love about FFXII. The mobs (monsters) aggro you just like in FFXI and they will link (gang up) on you also if you arent careful. It’s an added challenge that keeps you on your toes. Battles seem to be fast and furious and I haven’t even fought a boss yet. At least I don’t think I’ve met one yet.

From the 3 hours I have played this game, I would rate it among the best of the series. Great story so far, great characters, great battles and gameplay. You can’t ask for much more.

  1. November 13, 2006 at 1:24 am

    I like the game alot… im just not too fond of the lack of info, like when you go to buy a weapon.. you actually have to buy it to see the stats..also the License system isnt my fav ( i love materia )other than that great graphics! and great gameplay!

  2. Gil
    November 13, 2006 at 2:33 am

    I would agree with the lack of info on the equipment you purchase. It would have been nice to see the stats but I guess they thought that simply displaying the stat differences from the current equipped items was enough. I don’t mind it so much because I typically buy anything that I don’t have anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

