The Whole Wii Package

November 23, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

As a packaging designer and video game enthusiast, I have decided to comment on the excellent design of the Wii system as well as the packaging that protects it. I’m sure there are millions of other blogs that are currently reviewing the Wii itself but probably very few looking at the whole package from the art design of the system to the protective packaging surrounding it.

Wii Box

First off, the box itself is designed nicely. It’s clean and the art on the box itself is simple yet effective. All that’s on the box is the logo itself (with the occasional Nintendo logo in the corner) and the one piece of hardware (the Wiimote) that makes the Wii what it is. Simple and elegant.

Wii Trays

Secondly, when the box is opened there are 2 separate trays. Each tray is designed specifically for what will be placed in them. Sized quite nicely with excellent attention to tolerances. Very complex and most likely quite expensive to produce. Typically internal packaging tends to be styrofoam but Nintendo may have decided on corrugate instead because of environmental factors? Styrofoam is not easily broken down in nature while corrugate is easily recycled. Way to go Nintendo!

Nintendo Entertainment Systems

Lastly look at the common angles of the Wii. Do they look familiar to you? Well they do to me! Comparing the original NES, the compact NES and the gameboy all side by side, you can see a common angle with all of them.

Gameboy originalCompact NES
It looks like Nintendo decided to not only bring back the classic nintendo games but the Wii shape and design takes ques from it’s older siblings. Nice going Nintendo.
Wii & SD Card

Oddly enough the Wii itself looks like an overgrown SD Card. Dunno if that is just a coincidence or not but it sure does fit in the whole package deal.

Wii ports

Not only do the shapes of the consoles mimic each other but the ports themselves even have a nice angle added to each one.

Overall Nintendo has done a wonderful job in bringing back the classics not only in game form but in hardware form. The system is a treat to play and looks beautiful on the entertainment stand. The attention to all of the little details increases my confidence in Nintendo when it comes to quality products. Here is a cheers to all the Nintendo employees out there. You know who you are and you do a great job! Continue the excellent work!

  1. November 28, 2006 at 11:05 pm

    You pointed out the design elements most people miss in their excitement to get to the game. Good to appreciate the system from a designer’s perspective. Thanks for your comment on my Wii post!

  2. Gil
    November 29, 2006 at 3:04 pm

    My pleasure. It’s great to know that there are people out there who didn’t have to wait in a line to get the new consoles. I’m glad that you were able to get the Wii without any trouble. ^.^

  3. 1ndigo
    December 7, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    Nice Post Gill.
    The attention to detail makes me wanna get a Wii now just for how nice it looks. Plus T just got his yesterday (bastard) and sent me a pic message showing off. 😦
    Im a fan of clean design also, peeps like Nintendo and Apple are my Faves.

    So… see if you can help out. i dont have a Wii yet, so i was wondering if you could answer a Q Desmond left on my page.

    Thanx

  4. 1ndigo
    December 7, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    Thanx you for the comment Gill
    u rock

  5. December 7, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    No man I totally understand why you don’t like copies of games, but I’m planning to buy it when I get the money and when I can go down to the mall…

    The voice acting isn’t bad, but I still think some of the translations sound weird and Fran’s voice is a bit annoying….but it doesn’t bother me since Final Fantasy XII implements most if not everything Final Fantasy has done into one single game….bringing back the classic fiends with a new style of RPGing with a choice of Wait and Active system also a license/job class system.

    I’m also trying to get the Collectors edition and strategy guidebook…I have the regular edition, but I really want to special edition one too…I’m willing to pay SquareEnix because they need the money for more better games….

    I’m also playing Valkyrie Profile: Silmeria, which is fun.

    ~Kevin~

    P.S. Thanks for commenting.

    P.S.S. Can you give me your opinion on the Wii? Since I’ve been getting a LOT! of bias opinions on it and it really bothers me -.-

  6. T.
    December 7, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    i’m also a designer, but i wasn’t so gentle with the package I kinda ripped the system out of the box to set it up as quick as possible.

  7. Gil
    December 7, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    Darkdragon, I shall blog my view on the Wii (I’ll try to be as unbiased as possible). Also the FFXII collectors edition is well worth the extra 10 bucks for the bonus disc alone. The Metal casing is a sweet bonus as well.

    T., Understood. It took a lot of willpower not to tear up the box when I picked it up at midnight. ^.-

  8. February 15, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Can you tell us the dimensions of the package itself?

  9. John Stein
    February 17, 2008 at 6:39 am

    How is it sealed? How would you know if the package is still factory sealed? Any shrink wrap or a clear sticker over the flap etc?

  10. Gil
    February 19, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    John, Unfortunately no. There is no tamper evident seal. At least not with the first console run. I’m not sure about the more recent consoles that have been shipped though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

