Home > Electronics, Me, Nintendo, technology, Video Games, Wii > The Wii (in a somewhat unbiased view)

The Wii (in a somewhat unbiased view)

At somewhat of a request from a fellow blogger, I’m going to give my opinion of the Wii in as unbiased of a view as I possibly can.

The Wii is a unique piece of hardware. It doesn’t try to be the biggest or most powerful in the battle of the consoles. It’s simply designed for what it’s supposed to be. It’s a Nintendo ENTERTAINMENT system.

The system itself is roughly twice the power of it’s older brother the Cube. I only own Wii Sports, Trauma Center and Zelda but from these I can see that graphically the Wii is a formidable system. From the two and a half weeks that I have owned and played this system I can say that though the graphics aren’t the best of the current gen systems, they are better than the last generation which is awesome in my opinion.

The Wii is even able to play the GameCube games so you can retire it or trade it in for credit towards any future Wii games. For nostalgia sake, the system is even able to download old games from the original NES to the N64 (for a small fee ranging from $5 to $10). Turbografx 16 and Sega Genesis even share some of their library to the Wii. I grew up with all of these systems so I’m lovin it!

The controls are something that is unique to this system. You may wonder if it’s hard to switch over from the typical 2 analogs + 20 buttons control schemes but actually, the Wiimote is quite intuitive. Learning to use it is as simple as picking it up. Anyone can learn to use it. I would even go out on a limb and say it would take at most 10 minutes to learn how to control any game you put in.

The true burning question is:

Is the Wii fun???

Yes it is.

The controller (Wiimote) is motion sensitive which opens doors to a whole new style of playing. Wii sports, though by no means visually impressive, is as fun as any game out there. Hidden in the game is its true purpose to teach the player the use of the Wiimote + Nunchuck. What truly makes it shine is the multiplayer modes. Playing tennis or bowling with a group of your friends is definitely a fun activity even if it’s only in your living room. Besides, when was the last time a game came bundled with a newly released system?

In a world where everyone is so focused on power and graphics, Nintendo takes a chance and makes a system that isn’t the most powerful or most graphically impressive. Nintendo has focused its energies on one thing… Fun. Now where is the wrong in that? If you are wondering if you should buy this system, I would say that the $250 price point is a steal.

  1. December 8, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Sounds good to me, but what about all the little problems that have been found such as the horrid Wii-mote Strap, horrid if not unnecessary motion sensor bar and a glitch here and there? Also what do you think about the “lack” in variety of games such as not many third-parties making games for Nintendo (using previous knowledge).

    I personally think the Wii could be A LOT better if it had fix ups here and there, but I think its a good middle system. Not crappy, but isn’t on-top either. 360 In my opinion isn’t bad, but lacks games currently, but the games that are good has quite some replay value and Sony is kind of sucking horribly right now, but probably will come out on-top like all ways if they somehow manage to fix all the little problems.

    Anyways thanks for your opinion now I feel a little more hopeful on getting the Wii and not being disappointed and not from a crazed Nintendo Nerd *sorry for anyone who is offended*
    ~Kevin~

  2. Gil
    December 8, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Ok with the problems now. I believe the Wii-mote strap is only an issue with those that lack the capacity to hold onto anything at all. In the time that I have played the games, I have never let go of the Wii-mote but my hands have become a little sweaty from time to time. I guess I don’t have the problem because I have the Wii-mote gloves on them and they work wonders. It adds a bit of heft to the controller and it gives you quite a bit more grip. I don’t think it will ever slip.

    Bugs seem to be a standard in current consoles no matter what version you have. Some just have less problems than others. From what I have heard, the PS3 is most prone to errors. Next is the 360 and last is the Wii. I figure after time passes and quality control is improved, the systems should have minimal problems.

    The only glitch that I have ever gotten was a game freeze up and it only happened once. I reset the system and it was fine.

    The motion sensor bar is not too much of an issue unless you plan to place the Wii more than a few feet away from the display. I do wonder what the function of the bar is but I really can’t complain since I don’t see it as a hassle.

    Game selection is always sparse during a systems release. That shouldn’t deter anyone but if you feel more comfortable waiting for a better selection, by all means do so. Game selection will continue to improve but as of now, I don’t know of any specific ones that I want that would make me feel that one systems selection was superior to anothers.

    And with that I hope you enjoy what Sony, Microsoft and Nintendo have to offer ^.^

  3. December 13, 2006 at 2:37 am

    I’m enjoying the offers quite a lot actually. It has become a pretty hard decision on what to get first and so far I’m leaning towards the Rev/Wii due to the price, but that might change in the future. I guess I’ll have to wait when the system has reached half a year before I can start judging them…as for the 360 I’ll just see what they decide to do.

  4. February 14, 2007 at 7:24 am

    Hello. Some criticism, if i could.

    I’d remove the “unbiased” from the title, since the bias is thinly veiled. Nice of you to try, but it didn’t work well. The “Wii is a gamble” thing, the “focus on fun” bit, and “in a world of graphics…” yadda all plant your feet firmly in Nintendo fan quicksand.

    Nothing against ya, but i thought you’d like some comments on the attempted nature of this piece.

  5. Gil
    February 14, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I thank you for the comment and constructive criticism is good. I agree that after rereading my blog it’s pretty obvious that I’m a Nintendo fan. But it doesn’t mean that I am a fan of Only Nintendo. Heck the PS2 was my favorite system of yesteryear. I think this is a discussion that I will have to blog on when I have more time to type. ^.-

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

