Home > Art/Design, Electronics, Me, Nintendo, Packaging, Snapshots, technology, Video Games > Castlevania 20th Anniversary Schwag

Castlevania 20th Anniversary Schwag

I picked up my Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin yesterday and of course my preorder came with the 20th anniversary bonus package. Now that I have it, my only regret is that I didn’t preorder it elsewhere so that I could have 2. This is probably one of the best, if not best, preorder bonuses that I have ever received. Now I’m not one to preorder many things but when it comes to preorder bonuses and hard to get items, I guess I have no choice. Being Castlevania was a double whammy when it came to preordering as well. I have always loved the series and when I heard about this Huge bonus, I couldn’t say no.

Portrait of Ruin Bonus

As you can see in the photo, it was one helluva bonus. I would be willing to say that it probably wasn’t a cheap package to send out for free. That being said, I thank you Konami for the awesome deal!

Portrait of Ruin Seal

The package comes sealed in a black paper box about the size of 2 DVD’s stacked. It has a wax seal (made of plastic) with a logo of a cross and upside down bat wings on it.

Portrait of Ruin DS Game CasePortrait of Ruin Soundtrack

Inside this box is a small black sleeve that holds a Castlevania emblazoned stylus for your DS Lite. It also holds a small white plastic case to hold 2 DS cartridges. I would hope that anyone who owns this would strictly use it for Castlevania games ^.- Most importantly it has a CD attached to it (via a foam CD button) that has a mix of music from almost every Castlevania game made.

All of this in itself would be a great package but Konami went even further. Also in this whole package is a Quadfold poster that has a nice illustration of Portrait of Ruin on one side and a Castlevania timeline on the other. Lastly in this sweet package is a rather thick book that has illustrations from Symphony of the Night all the way to Portrait of Ruin.

I feel extremely lucky to have gotten at least one of these collector’s items. Only one day out in the real world and they are selling for upwards of $60 on EBay. Let this be a lesson to all of you if you want pimped out preorder schwag, you’ll need to be on top of it as soon as you hear about it. Oh and if you are wondering if I’m willing to part with mine…

Hell no!

  1. 1ndigo
    December 8, 2006 at 9:35 am

    The packaging looks sweet. i can only imagine how awesome it must be to actually have one on your hands.
    You did an great job showcasing it. The images look good.

  2. December 8, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    Indeed, the packaging looks very.. hmm authentic ? Plastic seal and all. Black and Red, the count is very happy *evil grin* 🙂

  3. Gil
    December 8, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    Thank you indigo. The photos really don’t do justice to the package. It’s great to have it and it really makes me want to pick up the original games to play them again.

    Xeos thanks for the comment. I wished it was a real wax seal instead of plastic and poorly attached velcro. Then again if that’s my only gripe, it’s pretty darn good.

  4. December 9, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    Now that I think about it, it looks like an invitation to a night gothic party 😀 Everyone in black matrix-like suits and leather.

    If it was wax, it would have probably cost alot more 🙂

  5. Gil
    December 9, 2006 at 4:37 pm

    I agree 100% 🙂

  6. Justagirl
    December 21, 2006 at 11:57 pm

    I like the little sword stylus! that’s really cool!

    I picked up the new game for my friend for the holidays. I’m not much of a Castlevania player but if it ends up being a good DS game, maybe I’ll check it out.

  7. T.
    February 19, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Do you know any cool sites that showcase package design?

  8. Gil
    February 19, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Well a couple of sites I check out from time to time are:

    http://www.paperboardpackaging.org/product/index.html#

    http://www.ppcnet.org/index.aspx

    They aren’t the prettiest websites but are great for info and carton products. The gallery for competition winners are nice as well. These sites may be boring to you but I enjoy them.
    It’s pretty easy to search cartonstock as well as paperboard on any search engine but most links are for companies making the products. Not necessarily bad but pretty limiting at times.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

