Kid Icarus

February 12, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Kid Icarus

It happened! It finally happened! ^.^ Kid Icarus has been released for the Virtual Console (with Ice Climber and Kirby’s Adventure). Ahh the childhood memories.

Here is how it is described on the VC:

Kid Icarus™ (NES, 1 player, 500 Wii Points): In a time when men and gods lived in harmony, the kingdom of Angel Land was ruled by two goddesses: Palutena, the Goddess of Light, and Medusa, the Goddess of Darkness. Unlike Palutena, Medusa despised all humans and enjoyed destroying their crops and turning them into stone. One day, Palutena decided to punish the evil Medusa and banished her after turning her into a hideous monster. But Medusa would not go without a fight. She created an army of monsters and evil spirits and captured Palutena. Players play as Pit, a young angel trapped in the Underworld, and Palutena’s only hope. They use a magical bow to retrieve the Sacred Treasures, defeat Medusa and restore peace to Angel Land.

Kid Icarus is literally one of my favorite games of all time. Now whether or not I’m planning to download it for my Wii is to be debated. I actually own the original and it can be a hassle to connect my NES just to play it. Either way, Kid Icarus is a joy to play. Kind of a cross between Metroid and Super Mario Brothers. I still love the fact that Pit can own a Credit Card in the game. Talk about easing a kid into the glories of owing money to the man early in life ^.-

Anyway if you have never experienced the joy of being a winged kid toting a bow and arrow (instead of pistols), or owning a credit card in a mythical world, I suggest you spend the measly 500 points to play this game.

PS you may notice that in the photo, the box and sleeve are white. In my younger years I did not appreciate and respect games the way I do today. It’s pretty obvious that I only have the cartridge and manual left. Being a package designer, I decided to make replacements out of cartonstock. I think I did a fair job of recreating the original box and sleeve ^.^

  1. February 16, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Do you think the code ICARUS FIGHTS MEDUSA ANGELS still works?

    Yeah, I dug this game, too. Still have it.

  2. Gil
    February 16, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    If it’s a true port, I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. The old Super Castlevania IV codes seem to work fine so let’s hope the Icarus ones do as well.

  3. March 20, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    I heard so much about this game when NES was still popular, but alas, I’ve never played it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

