Home > Electronics, Me, playstation, Snapshots, Sony, technology, Video Games > Shadow of the Colossus

Shadow of the Colossus

Another game completed and many more to go.

Shadow of the Colossus

Shadow of the Colossus is a treat to play. It’s an amazing game that chooses to break outside the typical video game box and be it’s own genre. I don’t think that puting this game in any traditional category would do it justice. It’s that unique of a game.

The basic story behind this game is that you are Wander, a seemingly lonely soul who is trying to resurrect his love, or perhaps friend, by asking a god for help. In order to resurrect her, he is given the duty of destroying 16 colossi scattered throughout the land. Only at that point will the god bring her back from the dead. Each colossi is essentially one stage in this expansive game. With each of these colossi, it’s your job to exploit their weak points. These are hidden until you come close to each one with your sword in hand. Now it sounds rather simple but each colossi is massive. Most of them tower over you like a mountain to a pebble. It’s imperitave to get onto each beast in some way else you can never find the weak point. I won’t give too much of the story but I do insist that you try this game out if you own a playstation 2.

You may wonder what the controls are like. Well to tell you the truth, they aren’t bad but they aren’t the greatest either. At times, it seems the controls are somewhat sluggish but it doesn’t detract too much from the game. It’s well done for the task given.

Visually the game is wonderfully done. It could be argued that the graphics are somewhat pixellated and poor. Almost akin to the original playstation but it’s the execution of lighting and color that I find to be amazing. All of the colors are muted and it always seems that there is a mist in the background. This adds to the depth of the space.  The motions of the characters are extremely fluid, especially Agro his horse.  It’s almost as if the programmers studied the movement of people and horses in depth just to create the subtle motions in each character.  It’s amazing watching Wander atop Agro running across the landscape.

The world itself seems to be huge and it takes quite a bit of time to get from one colossi to the next. I could see this as being a negative for some but to me, it creates a sense of loneliness. It makes you feel that much smaller in this created environment.

Overall I would give this game a 9/10. A wonderfully executed adventure. I have missed the feeling of accomplishment when I have completed a stage in recent video games. This game brings back that feeling of accomplishment.

To those reading, by no means is this a fast paced action game. No button mashing here and no stages with hundreds of enemies to massacre.

This is a game to savor; like a fine wine. Enjoy.

  1. April 17, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Great review. Reading it brought back that feeling you talk about.
    This is definitely one of my Fave games of all time.

    I agree with what you say about the graphix. They are a little pixilated, but the attention to detail and the craft of putting this world together brings you in the story, making you pay no attention to the pixel flaw.

    The world is so massive, at times I would just pick up the game to enjoy a ride with Agro and just be. Maybe try to hunt of try to get a few birds with my bow and arrow (i wasn’t successful)

    Anyway, a great review for an awesome game.

  2. Gil
    April 17, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Thank you 1ndigo! I feel like this is one of those gems that people hear about but never try. Playing this really makes me upset that I never picked up Ico. I should keep an eye out for it.

  3. April 18, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Now that you say that, someone did tell me about the relation to ICO too.
    I never played it either so im not too keen on the details or the relation.

    Would love to know a lil more about it tho

  4. May 22, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    This game is AMAZING.

    Artistically, one of my most favorite games.
    I love this game so much, I own it–but I don’t own a PS2!

    You have some nice photography skills, dude.
    I’ve been glancing at your photos, and they’re sweet stuff.

  5. Gil
    May 23, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    This game is a great all round artistic package. There really isn’t any negative to it.

    Thanks much D3stiny! I really enjoy taking pics and I’m still trying to learn more about my camera and about technique. I’m only hoping I get better (^.-)

  1. February 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm
  2. March 17, 2011 at 3:57 am
  3. March 21, 2011 at 10:56 pm
  4. April 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm
  5. July 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm
  6. August 8, 2011 at 3:09 pm
  7. March 15, 2012 at 9:00 pm
  8. March 20, 2012 at 3:06 pm
  9. April 2, 2012 at 3:06 am
  10. May 13, 2012 at 5:45 am
  11. August 9, 2012 at 10:04 pm
  12. October 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm
  13. August 2, 2013 at 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

