Home > Electronics, Me, playstation, Snapshots, Sony, technology, Video Games > My playstation collection

My playstation collection

BestBuy Sunday Ad

I have officially joined the ranks of Playstation 3 owners. It’s not that I really had a desire to own one at this point in time but Bestbuy was having a pretty decent sale. I have actually wanted to upgrade my 27″ TV for quite some time now and the sale for a 40″ LCD with essentially a PS3 thrown in sold me on it.

Playstation 3

So far I haven’t really had the opportunity to test it out. I’ve hooked up the PS3 but since Sony was cheap and only supplied some composite cables, I am unable to see the true beauty of 1080p. Fortunately though, I have a couple of HDMI cables coming in the mail later this week ^.^

I’m glad I actually own it now but it’s pretty sad that I’m not as excited about it as I thought I would be. I think I’ll load Final Fantasy XI onto it even though I’ve heard that it looks pretty poor on the PS3. I’d like to retire my LE Yellow PS2 and in order to do that, I’ll have to use the PS3 for FFXI. Oh well, it’s a give and take type of relationship ^.-

Sony Playstation Collection

I love retiring old systems. It’s satisfying in a way. Being able to repack a console means that there will no longer be any daily wear and tear on the system. It means that If I ever feel like going back to reminisce, I can. It means that I have purchased the new and improved system. Of course the obvious would be that it frees up room on my entertainment stand to fit the new consoles ^.^

Anyway I’m enjoying the new LCD immensely. Now it’s time to save up for a 360!

Game on kids!

  1. June 24, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Congrats on the new toy.
    Let us know how it really looks once you get those cables in the mail.

    That Yellow PS2 looks awesome. I didnt know they had color PS2

  2. Gil
    June 25, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Thanks!

    I got the HDMI cords in the mail friday and hooked it up. I gotta tell ya, It’s amazing! Everything is bright and vibrant and crisp. It’s crazy how much detail you can see in some of the games. It was well worth buying those cords.

    One nice thing about the whole setup is that it’s all Sony hardware so my sound system, the TV and the PS3 seem to meld quite well. I only need 1 remote and the PS3 controller to run everything! Also the TV seems to know what resolution the PS3 is running so it automatically switches to the proper resolution. Good times!

    I love my Yellow PS2. It actually wasn’t overly expensive compared to the standard ones. I ordered it from playstation.com. They actually had White, Blue, Red, Yellow and Silver for color options. All were in a shiny automotive finish. Even though I only have the yellow one, I am betting the other colors looked pretty pimp as well.

  3. sundaylangaming
    June 26, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    Wow. You have a nice collection of Playstations. I have never seen a yellow one before. That looks really cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

