Home > Electronics, Me, playstation, Sony, technology, Video Games > Playstation 3 (so far)

Playstation 3 (so far)

I’ve only owned my PS3 for three weeks now and I would have to say that it is an impressive system. I won’t get into the nitty gritty since Rollin has written an excellent review on it himself.  I would just like to say that I have enjoyed being a part of the PS3 ranks.

The system looks great although I would have preferred a satin finish as opposed to a gloss.  (less fingerprints)
The interface is smooth and easy to navigate.

Backwards compatibility has been handy.  I have even loaded Final Fantasy XI on my system ^.^  and it runs great!  Unfortunately PS2 games look pretty bad on a 1080p display.

DVD capabilities let me retire my old DVD player, effectively freeing up space on my stand.

Blu-ray = Awesome.  Images are crisp and clear.  I can’t wait to  build my library starting with 300.  I would almost say blu-ray is to dvd what dvd is to standard TV.  It’s great.

The ability to download game previews/demos  is definitely going to help me decide on what to buy in the future.  It’s quite helpful to be able to try out a game before I buy.  It lets me feel more in control about what I’m spending my hard earned cash on.

Graphics on the PS3 = also quite Awesome.  Gran Turismo HD demo is visually stunning.  I was in awe the first time I saw Gran Turismo 3 A-spec but this surpasses that.  It’s amazing.  I see a lot of potential in this little, shiny black box.  I can’t wait to see more.

So far the only gripe that I have is that my SIXAXIS controller goes on the fritz from time to time.  Basically my analogs cease to function as well as some of the buttons.  To correct it I need to press the PS button and then unpause it.  After that the controller is fine.  In a traditional RPG this would be no problem but while playing Super Stardust HD where the action is hectic and one hit = loss of 1 life, it matters tremendously.  I hope that it’s a minor glitch that will be solved in a future patch but I dunno.

Well that’s what I think so far.  In the future I may review some of the games that I get for it.  So far there isn’t anything that I’m truly antsy to get for the system.  So until then, enjoy whatcha got.

  1. T.
    August 1, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    What games have you played on it so far? See my bosses kids have 1 and the games they have kinda blow so i wasn’t that impressed with the PS3 even tho i’m a big Sony Fan.

  2. Gil
    August 2, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve downloaded 2 full games. Flow and Super Stardust HD. Flow uses the SIXAXIS function to control the “player” and I would say it’s more of a visual showpiece rather than anything else. I enjoy it’s relaxing atmosphere though. Super Stardust HD is very similar in play to geometry wars. The gameplay is hectic and can be frustrating at times but rewarding as well. Both games are well worth the cheap price tag in my opinion.

    Of the demos I have downloaded, I have really enjoyed Heavenly Sword. It’s akin to God of War. It’s action packed and visually impressive. Dynasty Warriors Gundam was not too bad. It’s just more of the same as the standard Dynasty Warriors, just hashed up with robots instead. Fun if you like that genre. Resistance Fall of Man is an excellent FPS. Unlike many FPS games currently out, in this you need to be more strategic in your gameplay rather than run out with guns a blarin. The AI is actually pretty smart.

    Those demos are the only ones that I feel are worth mentioning. As of now, it seems like PS3 games are just Playstation 2 games with improved visuals. It really shouldn’t surprise me but oddly enough it does. What I’m really excited for is Playstation Home, MGS4 and RE5. I’ll be much more impressed with the system at that point.

  3. T.
    August 2, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    awesome! MGS4 looks awesome i cant wait to play it as well.

  4. T.
    August 2, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    So Heavenly Sword is available on the sony store as a Demo or did you get it elsewhere?

  5. Gil
    August 2, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    It’s currently a downloadable demo on PSN. Well worth downloading but way too short in my opinion.

  6. T.
    August 2, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    Awesome im getting my boss’ son to grab it, i’ll let you know what i think.

  7. T.
    August 3, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Heavenly Sword is sick! just gotta get used to the combat system and the non ability to jump. But all together the game looks great.

  8. Gil
    August 3, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Yeah, the nonability to jump kinda irritated me at first but once I got used to the quick roll, I didn’t mind not jumping.

  9. T.
    August 3, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Hey can you do me a favor? See the ps3 we have here is Japanese and the web page that loads up is in Japanese. Can you give me the exact url that your US version displays?

  10. Gil
    August 4, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    I’m guessing you mean from the internet browser?

    well mine links up to:

    http://ps3.us.playstation.com/HD/

    Hope that helps

  11. T.
    August 7, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks

  12. August 14, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    wow… ive been missing out on a great discussion!!! heh
    I just did a post on Heavenly Sword.

    Havent played it yet, but by looking at all the behind the scenes and the featurettes videos they have Im so pumped about it.

    Ill prolly go play it this week with T.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

