Home > Me, playstation, Video Games > Nano Breaker

Nano Breaker

NanoBreaker

I’ve wanted to get this game for a long while and I finally picked it up over the weekend. Yes there have been numerous bad reviews on this game but I figured it’s from the same producer (Koji Igarashi) that brought me the Castlevania series. That being the case, it couldn’t be that bad right?

Jumping right in, the visuals and gameplay are quite similar to Lament of Innocence. It’s pretty much a third person, hack and slash button masher at its core. Combos basically consist of the triangle, square and R1 buttons. Quite simple but actually it creates a lot more variation than I thought it would.

The “leveling” system is pretty basic. Your health bar and “magic/technique” bar increase as you kill more enemies. In order to actually improve abilities, you need to pick up “chips” and place them on a combo grid. This unlocks new attack combos. It’s not so unlike the sphere grid in Final Fantasy X albeit an extremely dumbed down version of it.

So far, the story is kind of lacking. From what I’ve gathered, nanomachines have been used to cure all sorts of ailments in people. Unfortunately the mother computer in control of all of the nanomachines have turned on man. Now the machines are on a killing spree of course. They replicate by using blood and combine to create large monsters called orgamechs and it’s these creatures that the player needs to exterminate. Who would be capable of such a feat you ask? Well his name is Jake and he’s a cyborg with a handy dandy sword that is capable of destroying the nanomachines.

That’s pretty much the gist of it. Not overly complex in gaming or storytelling standards but what can you expect from a hack and slash game.

I am enjoying the game quite a bit actually. For the measly $9.99 I spent on it, I consider it a steal. If I paid $49.99 for it, I’d probably think differently.

For the price I paid for it, I’d give it a 4 out of 5 stars.

Categories: Me, playstation, Video Games
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

