Home > Me, Nintendo, Packaging, Snapshots, Video Games > My Metroid Collection

My Metroid Collection

With the upcoming release of Metroid Prime 3 : Corruption and the VC releases of previous metroids, I decided to catalogue and write about my love of all things Metroid.

Metroid

This is the game that started it all. The original Metroid still holds a dear spot in my heart. It’s a piece of my childhood that I shall not soon forget. Before this game, I had never played any game that had such depth of exploration. I loved this game from the start. The eerie sound effects coupled with the expanse of the metroid world made this game a joy every time I played it through.

Return of Samus

Metroid II: Return of Samus
was slightly different from the original in that the focus was now on fighting metroids rather than space pirates. Also with every subsequent Metroid game, new weapons or accessories were added. I remember this one to add the spider ball ability. Quite handy in the right situations.

Super Metroid

Super Metroid is by far my favorite of all Metroid games to date. The sheer size of the game was absolutely amazing for its time. Graphically I still consider it the most visually impressive SNES game out there. The gameplay was tight, the boss battles were challenging, the power ups were spot on and level of exploration was tremendous. I especially loved the ability to mix and match weapon systems. Many other games have copied this type of sidescrolling adventure gaming, namely Castlevania SOTN. Do I hold it against them? Not really, It’s a great formula, why not copy it? Even by todays standards I would give it a 10/10 but it’s probably because I am completely biased when it comes to Metroid.

Metroid FusionMetroid Zero Mission

Metroid Fusion and Metroid Zero Mission were both created for the Gameboy Advance. Both followed the formula of Super metroid and of course are great games because of it. Fusion is based in the far future of the metroid lineup. It’s currently (timeline wise) the last in the series.
Metroid Zero Mission on the other hand is just a revamped remake of the original NES Metroid. The maps themselves follow the original game quite well. I believe the true reason that this game was made was to introduce the current generation of gamers to where metroid all began.

Metroid PrimeEchoes

Metroid Prime is the first game in the Metroid series to go 3D. It is also the first metroid game to branch off of the primary storyline. At first I was quite hesitant to accept this game because I felt that the game would be completely butchered by converting to 3D. I was actually pleasantly surprised that Retro Studios pulled it off and quite well at that. Controls are great considering the change in format and it’s graphically impressive even though it’s on the Cube. Gameplay is challenging yet isn’t too overwhelming that you get frustrated. Typically in 3D games, the platform jumping is horrendous and makes you want to throw your controller into the TV. Prime is not that way at all. It’s probably the first 3D game that I have ever been comfortably jumping in.
Prime 2: Echoes is really just a rehash of Metroid Prime with new maps and weapons. The only real notably different feature is the light and dark weapons that constantly need to be replenished in order to be used. It actually gets quite annoying. I hope that’s done away with in Corruption.

Metroid HuntersMetroid Pinball

With the Nintendo DS sporting 2 screens, you can only expect an awesome experience with metroid right??? Well not really. I really won’t comment on Prime Pinball because it’s so far off from the series that it’s pretty much not Metroid. Metroid Prime Hunters on the other hand, I can comment on. Honestly this is my least favorite of the Metroid series. The controls are rubbish. Actually they aren’t too bad but unfortunately using the stylus to aim can become extremely tedious after a short while of playing. Introduction of the online component was unnecessary in my opinion but seems like many people really felt that it was an important feature. I have never actually played it over WiFi and don’t plan to.

Metroid Collection

Well I am truly looking forward to Corruption and the new control scheme. This will be a great addition to my Metroid Collection. I hope that all of you reading will be enjoying the game with me on release day!

  1. August 22, 2007 at 4:49 pm
  2. Gil
    August 22, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Thanks for the link! That’s awesome. I’ll have to watch the rest of them during my free time.

  3. bs angel
    August 28, 2007 at 8:30 am

    I saw this being played at PAX this last weekend! Looked awesome. I may have to pick it up as well.

  4. Tan
    February 26, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    You’ve got an awesome blog and an awesome Metroid collection! Even more than seeing other people’s collection I like seeing the individual series sets they put together for those series they love the most.

    It’s a nice angle for those of us who are more gamer than collector, regardless of the size of our game library.

  5. Gil
    February 26, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks Tan! As more of a collector now than a gamer, I appreciate it when I see other gamers taking great care in their collections. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one out there.

  6. Niickolaz
    July 26, 2008 at 3:53 am

    OMG

    beautiful *.*

  7. javan39
    September 18, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Man I keep looking further into your old blog posts and find more and more nostalgia…love it.

  8. Gil
    September 18, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Well I’m sure you can tell that Metroid is by far my favorite series. After that would either be Castlevania or Final Fantasy. I really don’t know. I’ll have to write about those in the future đŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

