Gameboy Original

Gameboy Original

Ahh the memories that this little “portable” device conjures up. It’s funny that even though this is considered a portable game system, it really wasn’t so portable. It was huge when I was a kid and even today (with my somewhat larger hands) I think it’s huge.

Gameboy Original

It even took 4 AA batteries to operate. That’s just crazy. I never really ported this around so much as play it at home in my bedroom. My favorites of this old school system were Metroid II: Return of Samus, Golf, Super Mario Land and of course Tetris. If you owned a Gameboy, it was almost certain that you had Tetris as well.

Gameboy Original

Twas a great system in its day and I’m quite pleased that it has spawned so many new versions. Even with all of the competition (Atari Lynx and Sega Game Gear) it came out on top considering it was somewhat inferior to the other two. Congrats to Nintendo and to the little system that could.. The Gameboy.

  1. xelestial
    March 12, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Hey, thanks very much for the first comment. Made my day already 😀 Came over to visit your little corner and I was happy to see a familiar image!

    Never had Gameboy myself, but managed to dig out my Gameboy Color the other day. Brought back fond memories. 4 AAs? Geezus, I think the GBC only took two.

    It’s come such a long way. They certainly are great little systems.

  2. fnbclan
    March 20, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    OH man, i remember my og gameboy… I even had the little holder with pockets for other games.

    I now have the psp but i don’t use it at all 😦

  3. March 24, 2008 at 9:28 am

    favorited this one, guy

  4. javan39
    September 18, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I still have my gameboy…it works if you like to play your games with sound but no video. I wanted to get it fixed but there is no place to take it. Oh well I could always get another for like $5 on Craigslist, oh by the way your basement project ended up looking great.

  5. Gil
    September 18, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    javan that’s pretty sad that your gameboy only half works >.< but I guess at least you still have it 🙂

    Oh and the basement was quite a project. It looks way better than it did originally but now it just seems so much smaller with everything displayed. Thanks again for the comment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

