My Xbox 360 Elite

My 360

Ok I’m finally in the ranks of 360 owners. It came a LOT sooner than I had expected and honestly it’s the best 360 in the world IMHO. You may wonder why because it looks like a standard 360 and plays like a standard 360. Well what makes this system so special is because I received it as a gift. The gift wasn’t because it was my birthday or because it was a special holiday. It was given to me because “I am the best husband in the world” according to my wife. Yes my wife gave it to me of all people (using her allowance no less). Now how many guys can say that about their wives or girlfriends!? This is even knowing my love of video games and how much time I spend on them. I do admit that I have been working quite hard on the house and of course house chores and dinner and etc, etc but that’s just the job of a good husband. Anywho I’ll give you my first impression of the 360. Ok maybe it’s not my first impression since I’ve used a 360 previously but close enough.

My 360

First off, people weren’t lying when they said it was a loud system. I could have my PS3 and Wii on at the same time and it wouldn’t make as much noise as that 360 by itself. That’s just not right when I have to drown out the sound by cranking up my stereo.

The dashboard leaves something to be desired for me. Perhaps it’s just because I’m used to using the XMB on the PS3 but I don’t think so. I think it’s more of the fact that everything seems so cluttered. It’s way too busy. Having a design background, I feel that less is more when it comes to visual appeal. Also readability is lost when there is so much going on.

Navigation on the dashboard seems similar to the XMB so that’s one plus for me since I’m used to it. I unfortunately don’t always know what is currently selected.

The wireless controllers are great. They are actually more comfortable and substantial than the PS3 controllers. It feels like I’m holding a piece of hardware rather than a child’s toy.

Graphics are top notch. Actually they are on par to the PS3 from what I’ve noticed and of course superior to the Wii.

My 360

So far the only complaints are:

  1. The controller wouldn’t connect with the system at one point in time.
  2. The system is pretty loud.
  3. I think it’s scratching discs already but I’ll have to keep an eye on it. It may have been from something else.
  4. The system froze up on me once already. Funny thing is that the only thing I was doing was trying to watch a game trailer. Wasn’t even playing a game… That’s pretty sad.

Well that’s it for now. Oh and I made sure to get a 360 with the newer chipset. Well at least I think it is. I’m hoping that mine won’t have the dreaded rrod so I’m taking every precaution that I can. Here’s to hoping that mine survives the test of time.

Game On everyone!

  1. Tan
    March 14, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Hey, congrats on the Elite! I just got one a couple days ago to replace the Pro model that died on me in January.:P

    Easy way to tell which chipset you have is with the power supply and/or the sticker where the UPC is located on the box. The newer ones with the Falcon (65nm) have a 175w and the older 90nm ones have the 203w. Mine is the 203w. I checked just about everywhere in the city and nobody had the newer chipset models in any configuration. As far as I can tell, they only got one shipment where a couple 175’s were sprinkled in and that was at Christmas.

    In any case, have fun with it! Depending on your tastes in games it can be a rewarding system glitches and bigs aside.

  2. Gil
    March 14, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks Tan. Yeah I researched a bit and the one that my lady gave me was manufactured on 09/28/07 but it had no indication on the sticker as to if it was 175w or 203w. I figured just to be safe I’d check a different target and lo and behold I found 3 of em that were manufactured by team:FDOU in January with lot #803 and the 175w power brick. I think odds are pretty good I have the new chipset. Also I have the BENQ drive but the system is still the loudest thing I have in my living room. I couldn’t imagine how loud the other drives are.

  3. bs angel
    March 15, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I’m not gonna lie, I am so going to steal your wife.

    I agree about the noise issue. They sound like a small plane taking off or something. The good news though? They also double as a space heater during the colder months.

    Enjoy your new console! And may the RRoD never rear its ugly head.

  4. Tan
    March 15, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    I just found out that the invoice stickers on the boxes may not be correct as once thought, I have a Falcon as well. I guess the only way to truly tell is by reading it off the power supply brick itself.

    Yay, now I’m only *half* paranoid about it failing lol. Shows how much I love my X360 to put up with that.:P

  5. Gil
    March 17, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Yeah my wife is pretty cool like that. I guess the doubling of duties for the 360 (as a heater) is not sooo bad. Twould help keep the lady warm ^.^

    Tan I’m glad you have the Falcon chip. Hope it serves you and the 360 well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

