Viva Pinata

Viva Pinata Platinum Hits

Ok I didn’t think that I would ever pick this up but I heard good things and it was only $19.95. You can’t beat that price. Ok maybe you can but it’s still a great price. I’m glad that they decided to make the platinum hits $19.99 because that’s reasonable. Now the PS3 on the other hand, they haven’t decided on a price point for their greatest hits yet. It probably means that it’s not going to be $19.99 like the ps2 greatest. That really bites but that’s another story.

Anyway Viva Pinata is essentially a gardening simulator. Kinda like Harvest Moon but it seems much less complex. Now that can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on the kind of gardening sim player you are. For me it’s great that it’s simpler. I don’t like to micromanage everything. I prefer to play games for fun and not feel like it’s a job. Viva Pinata does it right in this regard. You just grow what you want to and there is the occasional watering and fertilizing but it’s not tedious to me. Also if I lose a crop or a pinata, it really doesn’t worry me so much because I can always get another.

The customization is wonderful! You can design your garden any way you feel fit. There are ton’s of items you can purchase for it as well as accessories for the pinatas that live in your garden. Also after you have placed something, you can always destroy it and build a new one. There is so much versatility to this game.

Controls are simple enough but sometimes getting through all of the menus seems tiresome. There are so many categories within categories that there is the potential to get lost in them. Good thing that you can get right back to your garden by pressing the select button.

Overall it’s a great game with almost unlimited possibilities. I can see tons of replay value in this little budget game. I hope you can see it too ( if you like sims of course).

I’d give it a $20/$20

  1. Tan
    April 6, 2008 at 6:28 am

    Both my wife and I enjoyed this game immensely. I’m looking forward to the DS version as well which will be similar but with more items to buy and touch screen controls.

    It’s also one of only 2 games that I had spent the time to get all 1000/1000 achievement points for. 🙂

  2. Gil
    April 7, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Yeah I’m thinking that I’ll probably get the 1000/1000 achievement points on this as well. It’s way fun and borderline addicting. Also the achievements don’t seem so out of reach as in other games. Good times 🙂

  3. June 21, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Taunt!

  4. Gil
    June 22, 2008 at 2:36 am

    If simulator’s are not your thing, this game probably wouldn’t make much sense. I like the occasional sim so this is right up my alley depending on the time of day. Unfortunately all my time is put into GTA IV right now. It will be MGS Guns of the Patriots immediately after that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

