Home > Concerning religion, Life, Me, Nature, Snapshots > Floodwaters in Des Moines

Floodwaters in Des Moines

Flood waters at Union Park

The pic above was taken from Union Park in Des Moines. You can see the wall that was built to hold in the water. I’d be pretty frightened if I lived just to the north of this wall. As you could imagine, if that wall fails, there’s gonna be a lot of unhappy people. Not to mention they would all be homeless.

I was not living here for the flood of 1993 but I hear that this year it is supposed to be worse. It’s pretty crazy to see how high the water is by roads that I frequent. At times it seems like I’m driving from one island to another since there is water on both sides of the interstate. I’m actually one of the lucky ones. I’ve had no water problems in my basement nor do the floodwaters impair my trips to and from work. To me it’s almost as if none of this is happening. It’s unfortunate to know that there are people out of homes because of the flood and there are many at a loss of personal possessions. What’s even crazier is that I have overheard people talking of end of days. Now I’m sure these people are somewhat on the chemically imbalanced side but it has made me pause to think about it. Anyway I just hope that things get better sooner than later. Even if it passes quickly, there is gonna be a huge mess to clean up 😦

  1. Stephon J. Welch
    June 14, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Quite a picture. I am glad you are not impacted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

