Home > Gaming, Me, Nintendo, Snapshots, Video Games > Final Fantasy III

Final Fantasy III

September 3, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Final Fantasy III

I picked this up about a month back but I’m still in the process of completing it. I will have to say that this is quite a good game. Apparently Final Fantasy III never came to the states and so most westerners were unable to experience this game. I’m glad that Squenix decided to update this gem and release it to the US.

The 3D graphics are quite good on the DS. Visuals are bright and colorful. Even though the graphics seem somewhat dated (it almost looks PSOne quality) it still looks great considering it’s on a portable game system.

Controls are great! You can use the typical button setup but also you can use the touchscreen for essentially every aspect of the game. It’s nice to be able to switch off depending on my mood or if I get bored of one control scheme.

Story has been decent so far. I don’t know if the story was changed at all with this remake but it’s lacking in depth. I’m guessing it’s pretty much a direct story port. I actually don’t mind since I’m pretty much into old school RPG’s which brings me to the fact that it’s just an old school port with a fresh coat of paint.

I’m enjoying the simplicity quite a bit. Sometimes I feel like newer RPG’s try to be too much and become overly cumbersome. Final Fantasy III doesn’t do that and I love it for that. If you’re looking for some old school RPG time but don’t want to plug in the ol NES or SNES, this is a great game for you. If you are looking for more depth in an RPG, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Overall I’d give it a $20/$20

  1. doctamario
    September 3, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I agree with you about some RPG’s being a little over the top! I’m not really even that into RPGs but once in awhile, one comes along that I really enjoy.

  2. September 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I really enjoyed FF III and was very satisfied with how the DS release turned out. I found that although I very much enjoy the old-school 2D graphics in our their glory, the quirky 3D chunks that comprised this new-old world gave it a unique touch. I found the story to be ok (it’s actually toward the bottom of my fav FF’s list).
    The touch screen was useless, save for level griding- it made that much easier of my left thumb haha.

    After you finish this, I HIGHLY recommend picking up FF IV for DS. It’s made the same way and is (from what I’m heard and read) the best release of the game Stateside. Also, FF IV has is an amazing game and one of the best in old FF’s. Enjoy! ^_^

  3. Gil
    September 11, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I’ll definitely be picking up the FF IV DS remake but it won’t be for quite some time. I currently have too many fish to fry as it is so I’d never have time to play it 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

