Home > Gaming, Me, Nintendo, Snapshots, Video Games, Wii > Mario Kart Wii

Mario Kart Wii

September 4, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Mario Kart Wii

Finally! I was able to pick this game up. It’s all but impossible to find kinda like the Wii itself. It’s funny that when the game was released I had seen many a copy sitting on the Target shelves. Once I decided that I needed one (as well as a friend of mine) it became nonexistent. Over the Labor day weekend, while I was on my way to visit the family, I stopped into Coral Ridge Mall and checked out Gamestop. Lo and behold they actually had a pyramid of Mario Karts. The clerk said that they received a rather large shipment the day before and had already sold over half of them. Boy am I glad that I stopped in when I did. I don’t think the rest of them would have lasted the weekend.

This game is definitely one of the better versions of Mario Kart out there. Over the years, mario kart has somewhat lost its charm but the new control scheme freshens everything up and makes it new again. I love the original on the SNES and this version is actually just as high on my list of the best of the series.

Mario Kart Wii

A bonus to this game is that it comes with a Wii Wheel for your Wiimote. Without the wheel, controlling is just uncomfortable and silly at best. Of course you just can’t look cool by driving with just a Wiimote in your hands and not the pimp Wii Wheel.

This game is a pleasure to play and it’s only better with a group of friends (pretty much like any Wii game). For any Wii owner I believe this to be on the list of must haves.

Overall a $50/$50
The free wheel included makes the whole package a steal.

  1. Micah McMillan
    September 10, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Agree 100%, this is a must have Wii game, for parties and even makes for a good individual time killer. For those looking for a slightly cheaper way to go, I strongly recommend you try MarioKart for the GameCube (if you haven’t already) to compare the Wii verson to the most recent past incarnation. Both very similar (minus the bikes and stunts), both very good. I also recommend trying MarioKart Wii with a GameCube controller (like the Wavebird or one of the nicer third-party GC wireless rumble-enabled controllers) for a more accurate approach–though there is something more tactile and challenging about trying to drive with the Wiimote wheel.

  2. September 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Wow. I didn’t know both Mario Kart and the Wii were hard to find items. O.o Hopefully, I’ll have enough saved up to get a Wii soon to share with my girlfriend. We love DDR as well. lol.

  3. Gil
    September 11, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I enjoy watching DDR but I’ve never been able to do it that well >.<

    I figure I’ll leave it to my sister and her boyfriend. They are pretty darn good at it 🙂

  4. javan39
    September 17, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I am gonna have to get this game now. If its as good as the SNES version or even close then I am sure it will be worth the 50 bucks….if I can find one.

    Gotta love the Wii

  5. September 17, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Hey, enjoyed reading your post today. I’m about to start a retro gaming review blog here on Word Press, so I hope to find you again sometime.

    Have a good one!

  6. September 24, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    as a old school MK player, I’m finding it incredible slow and pain stakingly boring comparated to old faster versions of the game. But as with most wii games the lower your skill level the more you’ll enjoy it. however above average skill players will hate it

  7. April 21, 2010 at 2:24 am

    MKWii ROCKS! I, like, totally pawn you all!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

