Home > Gaming, Me, Snapshots, Video Games, XBox > Infinite Undiscovery

Infinite Undiscovery

September 18, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Infinite Undiscovery

I’ll admit that I haven’t clocked in that much time in this game yet. I only have about 10 of the “who knows how many” characters in my party right now.

So far the game has been pretty fun. It’s pretty much an action RPG at its core and I really don’t mind that. You can choose battles since the enemies are visible while you are roaming the world which seems to be more common in current RPG’s. No more of that random battles crap. Admittedly the combat does get pretty repetitive since you are only using 2 buttons to mash together combos. The one nice thing is that battles are pretty quick since your AI counterparts are actually pretty decent at taking out the enemies. Come to think of it, the AI control system seems to be a very simplified gambit system (introduced in Final Fantasy XII).

There really is no customization of characters at all. All have their own strengths/weaknesses and can only equip specific items linked to their “job”. In order to customize your party (of 4) you need to swap out characters which can only be done in towns or during special events. The party can’t be switched out on the main map or in dungeons so the party better be able to hold their own out in the field. One good thing is that the “non used” characters gain experience as well even if they aren’t in the active party. So there is no level grinding needed for the less used characters.

I do like the crafting system in the game. Each character can craft different items depending on what you have gained in battles or have purchased in shops. It’s a simple system but fun no less. Definitely a nice addition to the game.

The story has been slow to build and no where near as engaging as I’d like it to be. I marginally want to know the origins of the main character and his “twin” but that’s about it. The rest of the characters can fall by the wayside for all I care. The voice acting is decent but doesn’t sync up with the lip movement of the characters. This really doesn’t bother me too much since they are real time cinematics as opposed to pre-rendered CG movies. I’ll deal with it.

I can’t help but to compare this to the Final Fantasy series and it seems like a weak attempt. It’s a good game but so far not great. This game just hasn’t lived up to the hype that I had given it. Perhaps my opinion will change as I progress in the game. Unfortunately my desire to continue the game is not as high as it probably should be.

😦

Overall I’d give it a $45/$60

  1. SummerElk
    October 8, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I hadn’t heard of this game at all, would you suggest renting it? And how does your rating system work ($45/$60?)
    I’ve been looking for a good RPG, especially one for the Xbox360. I’m an old PS3 fanboy looking for another Final Fantasy VII but I think those days are over. 😦

    By the way, thanks for commenting on Fragmatica! It’s always nice to see the blog getting some traffic. 🙂

  2. Gil
    October 9, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I’d definitely suggest renting it first before buying. It’s a pretty standard action RPG with some Final Fantasy elements mixed in. Not a must have for the 360 but if you have time to fill before some of the big games come out, I’d say try it out.

    My rating system is completely subjective but pretty much anyones rating system is 🙂 I don’t like how current rating systems go by arbitrary numbers. How about a rating system that gives you a general idea of the dollar value of a game… basically how much you should pay for a game. That being said, this is how my rating system works:

    ($45/$60) = (A decent deal if it’s less than this amount/What I purchased it for)

    Oh and I enjoyed reading some of the blogs at Fragmatica, it looks like a place I’ll be frequenting 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

