Home > game collection, Gaming, Me, Snapshots, Video Games, XBox > Beautiful Katamari

Beautiful Katamari

Beautiful Katamari

I finally completed this game. Well to be more specific, I’ve gone through the story and watched the final cut scene. There still is a lot of collecting to do and a few stages that need to be redone, but I’m gonna call it for now.

If you aren’t familiar with the Katamari series, I’ll give you a quick run down of the basic gameplay. You’re a miniature guy that rolls around a ball that everything sticks to. What ends up happening is that as you roll this “ball” around the place, it collects things and grows bigger and thus you are able to collect bigger things. You can grow this ball to epic proportions and eventually end up rolling up planets and stars… that’s pretty big.

I would say that each one in the series follows a very similar story. All are equally crazy but entertaining no less. Speaking of this part in the series specifically, I’d say it’s probably my least favorite. I don’t exactly know why yet but I’m thinking it has something to do with the responsiveness of the controls. The first 2 versions were on the Playstation 2 but for some odd reason, this third installment is an exclusive to the 360. The controls obviously had to change slightly because of the different controller setups. I prefer the Playstation controller over the 360 for this game for the mere fact that the analogs are mirrored. The Playstation analogs are next to each other whereas the 360 analogs are more kitty corner from each other. I think it makes a difference in how the ball feels when it’s rolling. It seems off kilter because the analogs aren’t in line with each other. Perhaps I’m just crazy.

Even with this minor shortfall, I find this to be a most excellent game. If you only have a 360 but no PS2, I’d say get this game. If you do have a PS2, I’d say get the original Katamari Damacy.

Overall I’d score this a $30/$20

  1. January 22, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Thank you! I’ve always wondered why Beautiful was inferior to the PS2 originals, and now that I think about it I find it could very well be the analog sticks!

    Brilliant!

  2. January 23, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I love the shit out of this game, It’s insanely fun and even the J-pop soundtrack rocks, but it’s always suffered cause of it’s awful controls. Oh and I’ve always hated that it comes with achievements that you have to buy DLC to get. I’ll still play it any day of the week though.

  3. garvaos
    January 28, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I just got this game yesterday. I think it is agreat game with plenty of replay value. Definatly a keeper for my collection 🙂

  4. Gil
    February 4, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    @kaitis

    agreed. I also hate when they add achievements to DLC. Cheap way of getting more people to buy the content.

    @garvaos

    I think that any gamer should have at least one of the Katamari’s. Glad that you have this one in your collection 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

