Home > Food, Me, Snapshots > Chocolate Covered Goodness

Chocolate Covered Goodness

February 18, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I used to give the “Lady” chocolate covered strawberries every Valentine’s Day and of course she loved them. This year I thought to myself, why spend $40 on a dozen chocolate covered strawberries when it could not possibly be that difficult to make? Well I went ahead and made the attempt. For roughly $40 I bought myself a double boiler, 2 pounds of fresh strawberries, 20 oz of Ghirardelli gourmet semi sweet chocolate and a bag of pretzels (in case I had leftover chocolate). Lo and behold, this is what the final score was:

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Three and a half dozen chocolate strawberries and quite a few chocolate covered pretzels. They tasted every bit as good as the candy store bought ones. I actually surprised myself. Not only that but now I have a double boiler for future food projects and more than 3 times the amount of chocolate covered strawberries as I would have gotten if I bought them pre-made!

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

