Home > Gaming, Me, Packaging, playstation, Video Games > My Resident Evil 5 (CE) Preorder

My Resident Evil 5 (CE) Preorder

February 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As the days have gone by and I’ve had more time to think, I’m doubting my preorder of this game.

My RE5 Preorder

I am a huge fan of the Resident Evil series and I absolutely loved RE4. That being said, it’s natural that I would want this game. I have also preordered it at an awesome discounted price. I’d say that $74.99 total (free shipping & no tax) is awesome considering that the Collector’s edition runs for $89.99 plus shipping and handling at most other online retailers.

There’s more than one issue that’s bothering me about the preorder. First off, I’ve played the demo and the fact is… I’m not really sold on the gameplay. I know that I’ll love the story because I love the series and I always want to know more. I just couldn’t get used to the controls and physics. I think I got a little spoiled with Dead Space. The controls were tight (aside from lack of a 180° turn) and the weapons had a real solid feel. When you shot something, it felt like you were hitting it hard. RE5 feels like you’re shooting with a BB gun.

Secondly, I doubt there will be a shortage of collector’s editions. If I wait it out, I’ll probably see a stack of them on an endcap somewhere for 50% off or so.

Which brings me to the third issue. I have too many games to play as it is. Even if I were to get this game on release day, it would inevitably sit on my shelf for the next year before I started playing it.

I know that I’ll be getting this game eventually. It’s a question of whether it’s sooner or later. So the question I leave you with is this:

Is it worth my time to get it on release day at a roughly $15 – $20 discounted price just to let it sit on the shelf for an unknown amount of time? Or should I just wait until I find the CE on sale somewhere else in the late future when I actually have time to play it?

  1. March 2, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    If you aren’t going to play it right away – the answer is simple: No, it isn’t worth it. Get it later, cheaper, when you have time to play it. I mean – it’s the game you want, right? Not the vague warm fuzzy feeling of owning it before anyone else.

    Also – it is an awesome discount… but damn. $75 is a lot of money for any game! Of course, I’m a notorious cheapskate, so what do I know!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

