Home > game collection, Gaming, Me, playstation, Video Games > Borderlands – An Enjoyable Experience

Borderlands – An Enjoyable Experience

November 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Just finished up Borderlands over the weekend and I’ll have to say that I’ve enjoyed pretty much every bit of it. I can’t say that it’s the best game out there but it definitely filled a void that I have been yearning for quite some time. If I were to describe what the game is, I’d say that it’s a mixture of Diablo II’s character selecting and item generating system combined with Fallout’s post apocalyptic themes and first person gameplay. Toss in some humor and pretty it up with some artsy water color graphics and you got Borderlands. That’s pretty simplified but that’s how I would describe it.

What I loved about it:

  1. Random item generation. I’m a sucker for it. It keeps me coming back and I haven’t played a game that has done it so well since Diablo II. It actually makes me want to reinstall Diablo II on my computer and romp around Tristram again.
  2. Replay value. There are 4 classes, each with unique skills and attributes. They can each use pretty much any of the weapons found yet their skills enhance the weapons differently. Makes for a unique experience each playthrough.
  3. The ability to redistribute skill points at any teleport station… for a cost of course. Then again money becomes so plentiful later on that it’s a non issue.
  4. 2 player co-op in the same room. Simple idea yet most games are going the way of network play only.
  5. Humor. Some of the quests are funny and many of the sayings in the game are hilarious. I especially love the voice of the dude at the vehicle depot. Fun stuff.
  6. Graphics. I love the contrast of the gritty nature of the game with the clean water color artsy graphics. Something about it appeals to me.

What I would have been happy without:

  1. Excessive load times.
  2. Fetch quests… Can become really repetitive. Luckily for me I don’t mind them in this game because It’s nice to hunt for new weapons. The fetch quests just become places for me to search while gaining experience.
  3. The story is somewhat lacking. The entire game consists of fetch quests which I previously mentioned and there is only a thread of real storyline to follow.

Overall I’d give this game a score of $50/$60. Quite a fun game and I’m actually going through it a second time right now. Doesn’t happen very often with new games for me so that’s saying something. I’m so glad I picked it up for a whopping $36. Well I guess I better get back to Borderlands.

  1. November 28, 2009 at 3:58 am

    Man I want this game so baddddddd!

  2. Gil
    November 30, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    You will no doubt enjoy this when you get the chance to play it. It’s pure fun when you play with 3 other good friends that share the loot. good times had by all 😀

  3. Badgürl
    December 22, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Have you tried the DLC for it yet? The zombie missions are cool lol. And the new DLC comes out next month as well(jan 7) 🙂 if you ever want to play, let me know. Im always up for more borderlands!

    • Gil
      December 22, 2009 at 10:38 pm

      I have not purchased the DLC yet. Got my current goal of reaching lvl 10 trophies by 2010 and it’s not looking too good. I’m at 74% through lvl 9 and with my calculations… it will take me roughly 52 bronze trophies to get there >.< or 26 silver (or a mix of both with a gold thrown in). I don't think I'm gonna make it but I sure am gonna try.

      Definitely would love to do Borderlands sometime though. That'd be awesome. I'm lvl 50 Siren and about lvl 15 on the other 3. I stopped when I got the platinum.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

