Holiday Loot

December 30, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Ok so the gifting season is over and I was just wondering what everyone got.

I was hoping to get Star Trek on Blu-ray but the ante was dramatically upped without me knowing it. Instead of getting what I was hoping for, three of my sisters and two brothers pitched in and got me a $100 gift card to Target and a brand new 250GB PS3. Yeah talk about a significant difference in what you want and what you get. Understand that this is not a typical family gift. It’s like going on a loot run in Diablo 2. It takes about 32 runs to get anything worth keeping 😛

250GB PS3

Granted the PS3 isn’t completely for me, it’s probably more for the lady but I’ll probably be using it quite a bit as well. Family got it so that when Final Fantasy XIV gets released next year, we’ll both be able to hit the ground running. That’s gonna be good times.

250GB PS3

I also wanted to mention that Sony has always done quite well with packaging their hardware. Just check out the corrugated sweetness holding the PS3 in place! That is some impressive package design work there I tell ya (ok that was the packaging geek comin out).

250GB PS3

My only gripe with Sony is that both of my PS3’s only came with composite cables… How could you possibly tout a high definition system when it can’t provide high definition right out of the box? Just doesn’t make any sense. I figured the new slims would be shipped with HDMI cables but I guessed wrong.

Well I hope everyone else got what they wanted (and thensome). Keep gaming through the new year and just plain have fun!

PS I’ve ordered Star Trek and District 9 (which has the GoW 3 demo) from Amazon so I’m covered. Got everything and more this holiday!

  1. December 30, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Wow, what a nice gift! Glad you had a nice holiday! 😀

    • Gil
      January 4, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      Thank you very much! It was ok but many a family trouble made it less than perfect. I guess you always have to take the good with the bad.

  2. January 4, 2010 at 4:53 am

    I got Star Trek on Blu Ray as well as Uncharted 2, Dragon Age (360) and Metroid Prime Trilogy.

    I also got enough cash collective from my family/friends to get myself a JVC HD Everio which I will hopefully put to good use soon in the way of short films, series, and video reviews.

    • Gil
      January 4, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Nice! I look forward to your short video reviews. Should be some fun stuff.

  3. January 11, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    FYI, HDMI cables can be found for as cheap as a dollar on eBay. I got mine there and it’s worked perfectly! 😀

    • Gil
      January 11, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Luckily I already had a spare HDMI cord sitting in my closet. I quit eBay when I had my account stolen and used for illegal stuff. eBay apparently didn’t want to help me even though I sent them all the account info they requested. I even sent bank statements. I decided that if they were giving the account holder such a crap time trying to fix the problem when it should never have gotten stolen in the first place, then I don’t want to deal with them anymore 😦

      I say monoprice.com all the way! Love them. They have always had great service for me and the prices are unbeatable. Shipping cost is a little crazy but the low cost prices more than make up the difference.

  4. January 12, 2010 at 9:31 am

    My only gripe with the PS3 is the lack of cables too. Instead of paying $40 for a fibre optic cable in the shops I got a $5 one from eBay for the audio. We use a cheap as $19 HDMI cable from Target for the TV. The sound and picture quality is way better than what I dreamed. Totally impressed

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

