Home > Gaming, Me, Video Games > Bioshock… The first one

Bioshock… The first one

Well I have officially completed Bioshock. Yeah it took me a while cause I actually didn’t buy it until mid last year. Anyway I would have to say it’s a good game. It’s debatable whether it’s just as awesome as all of the reviews are for it. Good, not amazing but definitely good.

Some things I loved about it:

Story. It was well written and I liked the way that you learned about everything through recordings rather than some NPC telling you what has happened. Makes you feel alone in the game. Unfortunately the major plot twist was quite obvious within the first quarter of the game. It doesn’t detract too much but it’s been done before… many times.

Weapons. Loved the steampunk style weaponry and upgrades. visually impressive with some weapons quite unique to the game. Plasmids would pretty much be considered weaponry and these are what make the gameplay unique. I loved electrocuting enemies that were roaming around in pools. Also the telekinesis was great when you used it in conjunction with explosive canisters. Fun times.

Puzzles. Unique way of hacking systems and safes. Perhaps there were too many but overall pretty fun.

Graphics/design. Rapture is a treat to explore. Visually a top notch production in every way.

Music & Sound. Perfect for the setting. Truly added to the ambiance of the entire game.

Big Daddy & Little Sister. These are the things that separate this FPS to others.

Things I didn’t care for:

Seemed too much like any other first person shooter (gameplay wise). Not unique enough in itself to say the gameplay was awesome. Perhaps I’ve just played too many fps games lately.

Overall I’d give this a $50/$20. Which of course means that anyone with a PS3 or a 360 should get this game. Definitely worth the twenty dollar price point for a new copy.

Categories: Gaming, Me, Video Games Tags: ,
  1. January 15, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Hey Gil, Its interesting to read your take on one of my favorite games of this generation. I personally was a day one purchaser, and have played through the game multiple times for the simple reason that I just like being in rapture. In my opinion it is the most creative, spooky, vibrant, living environment in any shooter in the past few years. And with Bioshock 2 slated for a February launch, I am excited to get back to my favorite underwater city, will you be taking the plunge as well?

    • Gil
      January 15, 2010 at 3:03 am

      I definitely will be taking the plunge eventually but I will not be on the Day One bandwagon. I know that it’s going to be a top rate production but I’m hoping the hype doesn’t spoil it too much. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it when I get it.

  2. January 15, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    Hi Gil. Thanks for your comment on my Darksiders post. Yeah loved Bioshock even if unlike you the wondering around alone with no ‘normal’ people did annoy me a little when you take into consideratiopn games like Half-Life 2. I like that sort of companionship. Yet the game was very well done and am looking forward to Bioshock 2!

    Keep up the good work!

  3. January 25, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Hey Gil. Followed your link back from my blog. Have to say it’s pretty good. Added to my followed blogs.

    Bioshock is, for my money, one of the best games I’ve played on the Xbox 360. It’s up there with Dead Space though both are quite different. Just hope that Bioshock 2 lives up to it’s predecessor.

    • Gil
      January 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

      As do I. I am also very very excited for Dead Space 2. Loved the first one and can’t wait to get more of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

