My Thoughts – Darksiders

Darksiders

Well I have finished it… On Apocalyptic mode I might add. Twas much easier than expected but I would have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

It’s a great third person hack and slash game. Anyone who has played any Devil May Cry or God of War will be comfortable in the apocalyptic lands of Darksiders.
Actually, anyone who has played either of those should jump straight to apocalyptic mode. It’s a much easier and forgiving game than those.

Controls are tight which is one of my favorite aspects of the game. There was just enough story to keep my interest but not too much to detract from the core purpose of the game. That would be to just kick ass all over the place (don’t even bother with taking names). Considering that this game is about the apocalypse or end of days or whatever you want to call it, the art style had a punch that I didn’t expect. It looks amazing! Sharp details and bright colors aplenty. The contrast of gritty demons to bright and vibrant angels looks pretty awesome. I especially liked the glow of War’s Sword with different enhancements. Purple flames look pretty sweet on his obscenely large sword.

The one thing they could have done away with was Mercy. Seriously guys, what would War need with a revolver? Couldn’t you have thought up some much cooler projectile weapon? The only time I used the silly thing was to kill the worms… which was unfortunately the ONLY way to kill them.

Anyway, this game is a great fill in before God of War III gets released. Don’t expect anything new here though. Darksiders plays it safe. It takes the great parts from so many other games and melds them into one tight little package and it does a surprisingly good job at it.

Overall I’d give it a $55/$60 for the mere fact that it tries nothing new but does an excellent job with combining the tried and true.

  1. Cyn
    January 26, 2010 at 2:57 am

    I’ll probably try Darksiders out once I get a PS3. I’m a fan of the DMC and GOW series — so I suppose the game would be fun/interesting for me, since you mentioned it was like those games. :\ Only issue now is getting a PS3. Haha.

    • Gil
      January 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      It definitely would be a fun one for you. Controls are quite similar so you would feel at home here. It does have some similarities to other games as well namely Zelda. There’s a crossblade (boomerang), bombs to destroy walls, Abyssal Chain (Hookshot). I say there’s nothing wrong with that. Loved it all.

  2. January 27, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    hi in my blog (www.gamingeden.blogspot.com) i hold a special feature where people sent me a photo of their video games collection .you can sent me a foto of your video games collection too if you want at lamprouk@hotmail.com.
    i am looking forward to find a photo of your collection in my mailbox :):)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

