Home > Blogging, Life, Me > Power of the Moderator

Power of the Moderator

There used to be a blog that I would frequent and from time to time I would comment. Well I noticed recently that my comments had been altered. Well the comment itself was not altered but my name was. Normally my name would show as Gil (which I prefer to go by) and it would link to my site. Well they were all changed to my full name (Michel Ngilen) and had no link. Now I don’t know if I should be offended or not. I actually don’t mind that the link was deleted but changing my name? I’m kind of torn about it.

The thing is, I don’t think that my name would have ever have been changed if it hadn’t been for the fact that the blogger began dating someone who goes by Gil. I think that’s what gets me most. It makes me feel like I am less of that person now. Someone felt that I shouldn’t go by that name and someone else deserves that name more than I do. Perhaps it’s just petty of me. It’s just a blog right?

Categories: Blogging, Life, Me Tags: , ,
  1. Anne Lessing
    February 8, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Heck, I don’t think it’s petty. It’s your name! It’s YOURS! That person can’t just go change it! At the very least, he or she should’ve asked you. What does it matter, anyway? So there are two people in the world named Gil! Holy guacamole!! 😀

  2. Anne Lessing
    February 8, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Ooh, rereading…I mean that it shouldn’t matter to THAT person, not that it shouldn’t matter to YOU. I see where confusion might arise, with the wording. ::grins shamefacedly::

  3. March 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    I don’t think what he done was right tbh. Moderators should delete comments and only edit them if they say something offensive amongst an actual post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

