Home > Atari, game collection, Gaming, Life, Me, Nintendo, Video Games > First Overwhelming Gaming Memory

First Overwhelming Gaming Memory

September 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

In my youth I remember playing many many games. It all started with some generic home console that had 4 built in games. A Pong-ish game was one of them. I don’t remember what it was called. My memory fails me. hell I don’t even know if it had 4 games come to think of it. I was about 5, what can I say?

The next system I recall frequently using was the Atari 2600 which by the way I still have. Combat was always a fun one as well as Missile Command. There are many games which are still quite fun but I just can’t justify having 15 consoles attached to my TV. I barely have enough space for the 3 current gen systems. My limited space just doesn’t cut it.

The Atari 5200 followed this but it had a rather short life. Primarily because the controllers were almost literally pieces of crap. You look it up online. They were notorious for failing. It’s the one system that I don’t have in working order. Not because it won’t turn on but because there would be no way to control the game. I’ve not bothered to order replacements. I honestly don’t plan to ever play it again. Centipede and Pac-Man were awesome but I’m sure I could find an emulator.

Ok now all this leads up the the one gaming moment that probably set my path towards my gaming obsession. It’s probably the first moment in my life where my jaw dropped to the floor. I believe it was in the fall of 1986. I was nine and I came home from school. Dropped off my stuff in my room and I went to the “kids” room where my older brothers and their friends were sitting in front of our TV playing Super Mario Bros. I was floored! I thought to myself, “WTF! That’s a little man with a mustache in suspenders jumping onto mushrooms with eyes and turtles! I can actually make out details and not have to fill in the blanks with my imagination!!!”. Ok that WTF acronym never existed when I was a kid but you get the point. It was then that I realized I must use my powers for the good of gaming kind. My rapid fire thumbs served me well in the coming years. Appropriate that 25 years ago Super Mario Bros was born and only a year later, when he came stateside, he left such a lasting impression on me. It will stick with me for the rest of my life. Happy anniversary Mario.

So tell me, what are some gaming memories that you are fond of or would never be able to shake. If you were to become senile and have Alzheimer’s what gaming memory would you still have? Give it to me 😀

  1. September 14, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    My favorite gaming memory came about when I was maybe 10 or 11. My brother was home one summer on leave from the army and brought me a copy of Resident Evil 2 for PS. We took turns for the next week playing it, pretty much starting as soon as we woke up and only breaking for food for naps. He took over when things got too hard for me and it was probably one of the first “non-casual” games I had beaten.

    It’s strange to think that RE holds a soft spot in my heart 🙂

    • Gil
      September 15, 2010 at 10:09 am

      Resident Evil is still one of my favorite series. I’m excited to see what is in store for RE6. So much has changed since my first encounter with that zombie in RE1. Scared the bajeezuz out of me. Oh and those FMV sequences… Priceless. I need to pick up an original copy of the game just for those scenes. Awesome hilariousness.

  2. September 14, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    My very FIRST gaming memory was on a Texas Instruments TI-99/4A. It would have been somewhere in the arena of 1982 and this cross between console and computer would go on to later explain my flip flop between the two methods.
    Like most people some of my favorite PC memories include the side scrolling Prince of Persia, GrandPrix, Shinobi and Castle Wolfenstein while my favorite console memories include trying to teach my mom to jump OVER the gumba in SMB (unsuccessfully i might add), getting my ass kicked by my best friend (who was blind) in Blades of Steel and countless hours with Tetris and MK on the gameboy. :$

    *great post!

    • Gil
      September 15, 2010 at 10:14 am

      I’ve never had the opportunity to try out a TI-99/A4 but it sounds like an awesome piece of gaming history. I remember playing Prince of Persia on a computer as well. It was probably the first actual “computer” game that I played. Couldn’t quite get used to controlling the prince with the keyboard. I didn’t mind watching my friend play though. He unfortunately met with many an untimely death in spiked pits.
      Getting beat in video games by a blind person = definitely something to remember 🙂

  3. September 15, 2010 at 3:29 am

    You know, my first gaming memory was that of Tetris. I remember the old Nintendo adverts of the day. In the UK they were of a skeleton with a Game Boy. He always used to say, “Nintendo. Have YOU got the power”.

    Being a child, my response was; “Hell no! I DON’T have the power”. I ended up getting one for Christmas and spending all day at my relatives playing on Tetris (that music was like crack at that age).

    Soon after came the SNES, again for Christmas from my parents. And guess what red suspendered chap captured my imagination? Super Mario All Stars was just amazing. That was the true moment that gaming took a hold on me (and to be fair the family as we all loved the Mario games).

    Nostalgia rules.

    • Gil
      September 15, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Tetris will forever be a classic. It’s still fun to this day and that music! Catchy would be an understatement. You can’t get it out of your head once it starts.
      I still have Super Mario All Stars. Such a great compilation cartridge. I mean really… how could you not love Mario. He’s a dude in suspenders jumpin on giant mushrooms and turtles (even flying ones).

  4. October 29, 2010 at 8:03 am

    I don’t know about other places in the world, but here in Brazil it was Atari 2600 controllers that were crap (and i have never seen an Atari 5200 here). Maybe after 7 years i replaced them and could finally **really** play the games (i already had a Mega Drive by then).

    My shock came from the Atari 2600 -> Mega Drive (Genesis) transition. When i turned the thing on and saw the first Altered Beast screens, i was like: “Wow, are those the graphics of the game? It must be a pre-recorded movie, right?”. I also remember having a hard time with the Start button in the first minutes with the new system. If you press it during the demo, you go back to the title screen and have to press it again to start the game, or something like that. Atari was much simpler. I guess we asked each other a few times: “Is it you or the game is playing itself again?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

