Home > Blogging, Life, Me, Poll > Blog Surfin

Blog Surfin

September 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I was doing a little late summer blog cleaning today and decided to go through my “blog surfer” page to weed out what I didn’t want to follow anymore. I’ve just been adding different blogs to this list to follow and have never actually cleaned it out. I guess it’s about 4 years of blog collecting so to speak. Needless to say there was a rather hefty listing of blogs.

In going through this list I have learned quite a bit actually. It seems that the majority of blog owners aren’t very active with their blogs. I ended up deleting roughly 80% of my list. Many of the blogs no longer existed. I dunno when they were deleted but the “this page has been deleted by the owner” page was pretty clear. Some of them became private and so I was unable to read those blogs anymore. Finally the rest of them had been inactive for over 6 months so I decided they probably weren’t coming back. Might as well wipe them from my blog surfer list. I actually found one that was last updated in 2007. Wow I need to clean more often.

Perhaps the “blog surfer” title doesn’t really apply. It should be more to the lines of cemetery surfer because it seemed like I was surfin through a graveyard of dead blogs.

To all you out there who still blog regularly… I commend you. It’s apparently a tough job.

Categories: Blogging, Life, Me, Poll Tags: ,
  1. September 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Hey, thanks for the early comment; I didn’t expect anyone to look at that website yet, as it’s not completed. I’m supposed to remove the ability to comment, so your comment will disappear once an actual post is put up. I apologize for that.

    Regardless, … I’m new to this site. Is there like a …way to friend you or something?

    • Gil
      September 15, 2010 at 3:23 pm

      Hey no need to apologize. It’s your blog 🙂

      Anyway I actually don’t know if there is a way to friend or whatnot. I usually link to blogs I want to follow through the “blog surfer” page. Of course it’s been in beta forever but it does what I need it to do. Perhaps that’s what you’re looking for?

  2. September 16, 2010 at 12:52 am

    I blog pretty close to daily, and it can be pretty tough. I try to read a lot, and write when I have a spark of passion. If there’s no passion behind a post, it’s going to feel hollow.

    • Gil
      September 16, 2010 at 8:07 am

      Very valid point. Perhaps that’s why I really don’t blog more often. I really don’t have much to say that needs to be said. Sometimes the “important” things that I want to say have already been written by someone else. Probably written even better actually.
      I do enjoy reading what others have to say though. More often than not I surf other blogs and comment on them.

  3. September 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    For me, actually posting daily was never the problem. Just finding a consistent topic to blog on was the difficult thing. I’m always juggling comic and video game news, so it always felt like there was something I could write about.

    However, I’ve come to find out that unless you’re a celebrity or someone with an extremely interesting personal life, it’s hard to gain a following of readers when you change subjects like that.

    I’m pretty proud of the amount of posts I’ve been able to put out, but even I would be upset if I started checking the “Aquaman Shrine” only to find posts about the Human Torch.

  4. October 2, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    It is hard, I usually get this great rush of ideas and motivation that lets me write a bunch of posts in just a couple of days, and then get burned out for a while. Usually, I take the posts I write and schedule them so they come out when I’m burned out. It also helps to keep a list of topics you want to cover so you’re never without any ideas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

